Ride Share Accident Attorneys in Longview
Thanks to advances in technology, we now have the ability to call for transportation at our fingertips. Within minutes, you can have an Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare vehicle come and take you to your destination, and money never has to physically exchange hands. But with great convenience come potential downsides.
If you were involved in an accident, it may be difficult to know who to blame, and where to get insurance coverage. The obvious answer would be from Uber or Lyft, but Texas has specific legislation for rideshare companies. Speaking to an experienced lawyer is your best move.
Our Longview rideshare accident attorneys at Sorey, Gilliland & Hull, LLP can assist you in navigating the claims process. Call us at (903) 212-2822.
Although “transportation network companies” attempt to screen their drivers, they may not always do a perfect job. Texas requires them to check each potential driver’s criminal record and driving record, but just because a driver does not have tickets or convictions does not mean he or she is a safe driver. Our Gregg County car accident lawyers can help protect your rights and ensure you have the best chance of recovering damages.
A few examples of catastrophic injuries suffered in rideshare accidents include:
- Internal bleeding
- Loss of limb
- Fractured bones
- Spinal cord injuries
- Brain injuries
- Head injuries
In May 2017, Governor Greg Abbot signed a bill into law that put transportation network companies, like Uber and Lyft, under the jurisdiction of the state. That means local governments and municipalities are not able to regulate them by “imposing a tax; requiring an additional license or permit; setting rates; imposing operational or entry requirements; or imposing other requirements”– only the State of Texas can. Meanwhile, Uber and Lyft are required to conduct criminal background checks on drivers, but not so far as fingerprinting them (which the City of Austin tried to require before being overruled). Every rideshare driver in Texas must therefore have a state permit.
As for insurance, licensed TNC drivers do have mandatory minimums when they are online but in between rides, which are higher than Texas’s 30/60/25 minimums for private drivers:
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death to a single person in a single accident,
- $100,000 for bodily injury to or death to more than one person in a single accident,
- $25,000 for property damage in a single accident
When the rideshare driver is actively transporting a customer, Uber and Lyft are required to provide additional commercial liability coverage in the event of a crash, which includes a combined $1 million for bodily injury, death, and property damage in a single accident.
The coverage you get after being injured depends on which phase of the ride you were in, or whether you were just hit by a rideshare driver on his way to a pickup or transporting passengers. It also depends on who was to blame for the crash, as Texas is an “at fault” insurance state – the guy responsible for the crash is the one who has to pay for it. This is where having your own lawyer to investigate and provide evidence of someone else’s liability is important.
Filing a personal injury claim of any type can be a confusing and overwhelming process, especially after you have been injured in a car accident. However, rideshare accident lawsuits are especially difficult to navigate. Uber and Lyft want to protect those big-ticket insurance policies. Fortunately, we know the laws relating to these types of claims and how to hold the right parties liable in rideshare accident cases.
If you were injured as a result of a negligent Uber or Lyft driver, you may be entitled to damages. Contact us now at (903) 212-2822 to learn about your options. We handle cases for clients nationwide.
Don't wait to get help. Contact our firm today to schedule a free consultation.
18-wheeler Driver Fell Asleep And Killed Driver.